Select Page

What is a Halal BBQ? How to Eat, Host, & Enjoy Halal

Halal Barbecue | Guide To Eating, Hosting, & Enjoying a Halal | BBQanswers

If you want to make sure that the barbeque you are eating is halal, or you want to be sure that your Muslim friends can eat the food at your barbecue, or if you are just a BBQ nerd like me, you’re in the right place! 

This article will tell you all you need to know about halal barbeques. 

Let’s get right into it!

What is Halal?

‘Halal’ meanspermissibleorlawful in Arabic. Anything that is allowed according to the Muslim faith is considered Halal. 

Anything that is prohibited or unlawful is called Haram’. 

These two terms are used broadly for all deeds and acts in life. 

The term Halal is generally used in the context of food. But it is also used for pharmaceuticals, personal care items, cosmetics, household products, and food ingredients.

Is BBQ Halal?

Is BBQ considered Halal? | BBQ Considered Halal | BBQanswers

Yes, barbeque is considered halal if:

  • The meat is labeled halal or is from a trusted halal source.
  • All the ingredients being used, including the marination, grease, sauce/gravy, dips, are halal.
  • The grill and equipment should not be in contact with haram ingredients. If they have, it should be cleaned properly so that no trace of those ingredients is left behind.

What is Halal Food?

Halal food is food that is permissible to consume as per the Muslim faith.

It should be devoid of any elements that are considered Haram, and it should be made with the processes, equipment, labor, techniques, and ingredients that are Halal.

As per the Islamic Council, the following components are considered prohibited:

  • Alcohol or intoxicants
  • Lipase (from non-plant sources)
  • Meat broth from unknown sources
  • Mix species broth
  • Enzymes (Except Microbial)
  • Gelatin from Non-Halal sources
  • Lard
  • Animal Shortening from Non-Halal animals
  • Anything from pigs such as Pork, Bacon
  • Carnivorous birds and animals
  • Tallow from Non-Halal animals
  • Rennet (Except from plants, microbes or synthetic)
  • Fat from any Non-Halal animal
  • L-cysteine from human hair
  • Food that contains any of the components mentioned above

What is Halal Meat?

Halal meat must conform to the following conditions:

  1. The slaughterer must utter the Islamic prayer ‘Bismillah’ which means ‘In the Name of God’ right before slaughtering the animal.
  2. The animal must be cut with one swift cut to the jugular vein, carotid artery, and windpipe.
  3. The head of the animal is aligned with the qiblah (the direction of the Kaaba at Mecca).
  4. The animal must be healthy and alive at the time of slaughter.
  5. The blood of the animal must be completely drained out, and it should be completely dead before further processing.
  6. The animal should be kept in good condition before slaughter and should be treated with kindness.
  7. Sometimes, Halal also prohibits the eating of some animal parts such as the testicles and bladder.

It is said that the halal method of slaughtering is one of the most humane methods of slaughter. It is quick and painless when the cut is made correctly. The animal loses consciousness when the connection between the brain and the body is severed.

Benefits of Eating Halal
Apart from not appeasing Islamic Law, consuming Halal also ensures that:

  • The food that we are putting into our bodies is healthy and clean.
  • The animal has been killed in the most humane way possible.

BBQs in the Middle East | Halal BBQ | BBQanswers
Sheesh Kebabs | Halal BBQ | BBQanswers
Sheekh Kebabs | Halal BBQ | BBQanswers
Shawarma Meat | Halal BBQ | BBQanswers
Buying meat/Ingredients for Halal BBQ | BBQanswers

About Author